If you need Police, Fire or Emergency Medical Services, Please Call 911. Even if you do not think you have an Emergency, it is the standard locally to call 911 for all services (even non-emergencies) required from these agencies. Our 911 operators are trained to obtain critical information about your specific call for service and can provide life saving instructions when needed, so please be patient and answer all of their questions accurately. Doing so will provide you with the best service in the most efficient manner possible.
Also, if you are inside a house, please call 911 from the house phone (instead of a cell phone) if at all possible. This will provide the operators with your location information and save valuable time in a true emergency.
Motor scooters fall into two different definitions in North Carolina, motorcycles or mopeds. A moped must not go faster than 30 mph, must have an engine smaller than 50cc and must have no shifting device. If the scooter does not meet all of these, it is considered a motorcycle and subject to all the laws governing motorcycles, including motorcycle licensing, registration, insurance and inspection.
If the scooter does meet the standards above, you still MUST be at least 16 years old to operate it and must wear an approved safety helmet at all times.
The Town has provided sidewalks on the entire length of Ocean Blvd. For your safety, it is requested that everyone walking, cycling, jogging or running use the sidewalk and stay off Ocean Blvd. This allows for more efficient traffic flow and safety for all. Please be reminded that according North Carolina State Law, all persons under 16 years old MUST wear an approved safety helmet while riding a bicycle.
Aquatic Life Stings
If you are subjected to the unfortunate event of being stung by a jelly fish or sting ray please call 911. DO NOT treat it yourself with meat tenderizer or other household remedies. Some of these methods are very outdated and proven potentially harmful. At the very least, they could prolong the discomfort instead of relieving it. Our local First Responders and Emergency Medical Personnel are trained with the most current treatment methods and will respond promptly. Most of the time, they can treat you without the need for transportation to a hospital. This, of course, must be determined on a case by case basis. As always, if you have a medical condition or specific instructions from your doctor for incidents of this nature, please follow those instructions accordingly.
Other Items of Interest
For further information on any of these topics and others, please call the Holden Beach Police Department at 910-842-6707.
In the State of North Carolina, if a golf cart is to be operated on the streets, highways or public vehicular areas, it is considered a motor vehicle and subject to all laws, rules and regulations that govern motor vehicles. In short, the golf cart must have all of the following:
- Tail lights
- Turn signals
- Rear view mirrors
- State Inspection Sticker
- License Plate Issued by NCDMV
- Liability Insurance
- The driver must have a current, valid Drivers License
- Child Restraint Laws must be followed
Since most Golf carts are purchased and a bill of sale is given to the buyer, the owner must apply for a title through the NC License Plate Office. In order to receive a title through this agency, you must have a notarized bill of sale and proof of liability insurance. If the golf cart is purchased from a dealer , you must also have the certificate of origin for the vehicle.
All of the streets in the Town (including the side streets) are considered streets or public vehicular areas according to the State Law. This means that to operate a golf cart anywhere on the island, you must meet the standards above. Also, golf carts may not be operated on streets with posted speed limit greater than 35 mph.